BJP to choose Chief Minister at its Legislator party meeting at 4.30 pm today, Suresh, Manmohan frontrunner


Bhubaneswar : With nearly 24 hour to go to the swearing-in ceremony , BJP is yet to name its first Chief Minister in Odisha. However, the party is likely to announce the Chief Minister by this evening after its legislator party meeting scheduled at 4.30 pm today (11th June). Two central observers- Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and senior leader Bhupendra Yadav will present during the legislature party meeting.

Suresh Pujari, who won the Assembly seat from Brajrajnagar in Jharsuguda district, is considered a leading candidate for the CM post. He has reportedly received a call from the central leadership in Delhi. Pujari has a significant political background, having served as the state BJP president in 2006, later becoming BJP National Secretary and Sah-Prabhari for West Bengal. He was also elected as Bargarh MP in the 2019 elections. His selection could strengthen the party’s position in western Odisha.

Another name in the running is Manmohan Samal, the Odisha BJP unit president, despite losing the Assembly election from Chandbali by a narrow margin. Samal has been instrumental in leading the party to power in the state and strongly opposed any pre-poll alliance with the BJD, a stance that contributed to the party’s success. If chosen, he would need to contest a by-election.

Party insiders also suggest that a dark horse candidate could emerge as a surprise pick for the CM post.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.