Odisha orders 14-day lockdown in 4 districts and one municipal corporation area

0 22,445

Bhubaneswar : In view of the rising COVID-19 cases, the Odisha government today announced lockdown in four districts and a municipal corporation area from 9 pm tomorrow till July 31 midnight.

Announcing the lockdown, Odisha Chief Secretary Asit Tripathy said the 15-day lockdown will be imposed in Ganjam, Khordha, Cuttack and Jajpur districts and Rourkela Municipal Corporation (RMC) area.

“Around 66% case load are being reported from Ganjam, Khordha, Cuttack and Jajpur districts,” the Chief Secretary said.

“On further assessment of the status of COVID-19 pandemic in the State, and to contain and prevent its further spread, and in partial modification of the order no. 3B56IR&DM(DM) dated 30.06.2020, the State Government do hereby impose lockdown in the entire jurisdictions of Khurda, Ganjam, Cuttack & Jajpur districts and Rourkela Municipal Corporation (Sundergarh district) w.e.f. 9 pm of 17-O7-202O until midnight of 31.07.2020” read the government order.

The state reported 494 new positive cases on Thursday taking the tally to 15392 including 4412 active cases, 79 deaths and 10877 recoveries.
Ganjam has remained the worst affected district with 4867 cases and 48 deaths followed by Khurdha (1594 cases), Cuttack (1114 cases) , Jajpur (934 cases) and Sudergarh (750 cases).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.