Govt allows Telecom operators to start 5G Trials


New Delhi :  The Department of Telecommunications (DoT) on Tuesday gave its permissions to Telecom service providers (TSPs) Bharti Airtel, Jio, Vodafone Idea and MTNL for 5G Technology and Spectrum Trials. These Telecom Service Providers have been permitted to start 5G trials in different locations across India. 5G trials to cover rural, semi-urban and urban areas across the county.

These telecom operators have tied up with original equipment manufacturers and technology providers which are Ericsson, Nokia, Samsung and C-DOT.  In addition, Reliance JioInfocomm Ltd. will also be conducting trials using its own indigenous technology.

The permissions have been given by DoT as per the priorities and technology partners identified by TSPs themselves.  The experimental spectrum is being given in various bands which include the mid-band (3.2 GHz to 3.67 GHz), millimeter wave band (24.25 GHz to 28.5 GHz) and in Sub-Gigahertz band (700 GHz).  TSPs will also be permitted to use their existing spectrum owned by them (800 MHz, 900 MHz, 1800 MHz and 2500 MHz) for conduct of 5G trials.

The duration of the trials, at present, is for a period of 6 months. This includes a time period of 2 months for procurement and setting up of the equipment.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.