BJP renominates Union Railways Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw as its Rajya Sabha candidate from Odisha, BJD extends support


Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday renominated Union Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw as its nominee for the forthcoming Rajya Sabha election in Odisha.
The party released its Rajya Sabha nomination list for Madhya Pradesh and Odisha, highlighting that the Central Election Committee has greenlit five candidates, including Ashwini Vaishnaw, for the upcoming Rajya Sabha polls. Other nominees from Madhya Pradesh are L Murugan, Umesh Nath Maharaj, Maya Naroliya, and Bansilal Gurjar. Should they secure victory, both Vaishnaw and Murugan would embark on their second term in the Upper House.
Meanwhile, the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has announced support for the candidature of Vaishnaw.
“Biju Janata Dal will support the candidature of Shri Ashwini Vaishnaw, Hon’ble Union Minister, Railways, Communication and Technology for the larger interest of State’s Railways and Telecom Development in the ensuing election to Rajya Sabha-2024,” read an official statement released by the BJD.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.