Australia beat New Zealand by 8 wickets to win their maiden T20 World Cup


Dubai : Australia beat New Zealand by 8 wickets to lift their first ever T20 World Cup. In the final match, played at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, the Kangaroos successfully chased the 173 target set by the New Zealand team.

Earlier, Australia won the toss and elected to field first. Batting first the New Zealand team scored 172 and had set a target of 173 before the Australians. Skipper Kane Willamson was the top scorer for New Zealand who scorred 85 runs in just 48 balls.

Chasing a target of 173, Australia didn’t get off to a positive start as Aaron Finch once again departed early. The Aussie skipper was caught by Daryl Mitchell off Trent Boult for just 5. However, the early wicket didn’t derail Australia’s plans and the next two batsmen, Warner and Marsh, added 92 runs for the 2nd wicket. While Warner was dismissed for 53, Marsh only returned to the pavilion after leading the team to win the final and remained unbeaten on 77 off 50

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.