74% voter turnout in Odisha in first phase, Final figures may rise further


Bhubaneswar: Defying the national trend of decreased voter turnout, Odisha saw approximately 74 percent polling by 11:30 PM during the first round of Lok Sabha and assembly elections on Monday. The elections were largely peaceful, with only a few sporadic incidents of violence reported. The final voter turnout is expected to be higher once all data is compiled.

The voting took place in four Lok Sabha constituencies—Berhampur, Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, and Koraput—as well as in 28 assembly constituencies within these areas. Polling commenced at 7 AM across 7,303 booths, despite initial issues with electronic voting machines (EVMs) that necessitated the replacement of some control units, ballot units, and VVPATs. The polling stations remained open past the scheduled closing time of 6 PM to accommodate voters who were still in line.

Nabarangpur recorded the highest polling of 80.22 per cent followed by Kalahandi and Koraput at 75.71 per cent and 77 per cent respectively and Berhampur the lowest at 63.34 per cent. Similarly, Nabarangpur Assembly segment recorded the highest polling of 85.61 per cent followed by 85.20 per cent in Dabugam. Jharigam, Pottangi, Kotpad, Laxmipur and Umerkote also recorded more than 80 per cent voting. Berhampur Assembly segment recorded the lowest turnout of 54.14 per cent.

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Odisha, Nikunja Behari attributed low polling in Berhampur to the fact that people in urban areas generally do not vote as enthusiastically as those in rural parts. “The voting process was largely peaceful barring a few minor skirmishes reported from Chikiti area,” he added.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.