3 farm laws to be repealed, announced PM Modi


Listen This news

New Delhi: In a major development ahead of state elections, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday announced that the Central government will repeal the three controversial farm laws it passed last year in Parliament.

Before issuing an apology for “failing” to make some farmers understand the importance of the farm laws, PM Modi urged the protesting farmers to go back to their homes and assured them the farm laws will be repealed.

Farmers from Haryana, Punjab and some parts of Uttar Pradesh have been camped at Delhi borders for almost a year now, demanding that the government withdraw the three laws — The Farmers Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Act, 2020, The Essential Commodities (Amendment) Act, 2020 and Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement on Price Assurance and Farm Services Act, 2020.

Reacting the Prime Mnister’s decision to repeal the farm laws, farmer leader Rakesh Tikayat said “the agitation will not be withdrawn immediately, we will wait for the day when agricultural laws will be repealed in Parliament.  Along with MSP, the government should also discuss other issues of farmers”.

Meanwhile, former Punjab CM Captain Amrinder Singh has welcomed the decision to repeal the farm laws. “Great news! Thankful to PM @narendramodi  ji for acceding to the demands of every punjabi & repealing the 3 black laws on the pious occasion of #GuruNanakJayanti. I am sure the central govt will continue to work in tandem for the development of Kisani!” he twitted.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.