Polling underway in Odisha’s Patkura Assembly Constituency, 42% polling till 1 pm


By T. Moharana

Kendrapara: Voting underway at Odisha’s Patkura Assembly constituency despite EVM technical glitches in the Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) at few polling centers.

A total of 2,44,747 voters will exercise their franchise in Patkura poll. As per information provided by the Chief Election officer, Odisha 26% poling has been recorded till 11 am.

Out of total 309 polling stations, 138 booths have been identified as sensitive. Total 10 candidates including BJD’s Sabitri Agarwalla, the lone woman candidate, BJP’s Bijoy Mohapatra and Congress Assembly nominee Jayanta Kumar Mohanty are contesting in the election.

Voting for this constituency was rescheduled to May 19 during the general elections due to death of BJD candidate Vedprakash Agrawalla. However, the polling date was again rescheduled to july 20, after cyclone FANI devastated the Coastal Odisha in May first week.

Four companies of Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) will be deployed and 40 CCTV cameras have been installed at various polling stations for smooth conduct of the poll.

The fate of three political bigwigs nominated by Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress will be sealed in the EVMs in the poll. While BJP is expecting to capture the Assembly seat, the BJD has given the best efforts to win the ‘prestige’ battle by fielding late popular leader Bed Prakash Agarwalla’s widow.



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.