Odisha announces 60-hour complete Shutdown in 3 districts

0 4,984

Bhubaneswar: With most of the new cases are coming from 3 districts Balasore, Bhadrak and Jajpur, the Odisha government on  Thursday announced a 60-hours complete shutdown in these districts. The shutdown-akin to curfew-  will come into effect from 10 pm today till 10 pm on 26th of April.

Odisha Chief Secretary Asit Tripathy announced the government decision in a press conference a short while ago.

He said that out the 89 confirmed cases in the state, 33 are from these 3 districts. Also, out of the 29 cases reported in the last 48 hours, 28 come from these 3 districts. Most importantly, all of these people have travel history to West Bengal or linked to them.


So far Jajpur has total 12 confirmed cases, Bhadrak has 11 cases and Balasore has 10 cases.

With reports of more people might have returned from West Bengal, the state government has stepped up its efforts of contact tracing in these districts. The government has also sealed the state’s border with West Bengal.

Six new cases have been reported today in the state, out of this 4 cases are from Jajpur and 2 are from Balasore. All these new cases are linked to the earlier cases who had travel history to West Bengal.

Earlier, the Odisha government had enforced complete shutdown in three cities-Bhubaneswar, Cuttack and Bhadrak.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.