5 States To Vote In 7 Phases Between Feb 10 and March 7; Counting On March 10


New Delhi : Amid sharp rise in COVID-19 cases, the election commission of India (ECI) on Saturday announced poll dates for 5 states- Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Uttrakhand, Manipur and Punjab.

Voting will be held in total 7 phases in total 690 seats including 403 in UP, 117 in Punjab, 70 in Uttarakhand, 60 in Manipur and 40 in Goa.

Voting will be held on the following dates:

First Phase UP – 10th Feb

Second Phase UP – 14th Feb Punjab – 14th Feb Uttarakhand – 14th Feb Goa – 14th Feb

Third Phase UP – 20th Feb

Fourth Phase UP – 23rd Feb

Fifth Phase UP – 27th Feb Manipur – 27th Feb

Sixth Phase UP – 3rd March Manipur – 3rd March

Seventh Phase UP – 7th March

Results 10th March (5 States)


“As COVID cases soared in view of Omicron variant, ECI held meetings with Union Health Secretary & Home Secretary, experts, & health secretaries of States. After taking these views & ground situation, ECI decided to announce polls with safety norms in place” said Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sushil Chandra.

24.9 lakh first-time electors are registered in the 5 States including Uttar Pradesh. A total of 18.34 crore electors including service voters will take part in this election out of which 8.55 crore are women electors: CEC Sushil Chandra on 5 States polls. Senior citizens above 80 years of age, persons with disabilities & COVID19 patients can vote by postal ballot” he said.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.